Meet The Honorees Of The 2022 Installation Awards

Meet The Honorees Of The 2022 Installation Awards

Five distinguished honorees headline EBLC’s annual event

Join the East Bay Leadership Council at the 2022 Installation Awards for an evening to connect with friends and celebrate the East Bay Leadership Council’s legacy of leadership.

We will recognize the valuable contributions of the dedicated members of our Board of Directors, welcome new members, and hear from Leo Scott (Gray Bowen Scott) as he begins his term as Board Chair. We will also honor the exceptional leaders within EBLC by presenting The Ellen O. Tauscher Distinguished Service Award, The Distinguished Advocate Award, and The East Bay Leadership Medal. Meet this year’s honorees below.

Thursday, August 18 | 5:30 PM – 8:00 PM
Pleasant Hill Community Center (map)

Meet The Honorees


Contra Costa Community College District – For extraordinary support of meaningful and equitable work-based learning through expanded investments in Earn & Learn all while continuing to provide award-winning educational opportunity to thousands of students across Los Medanos, Diablo Valley and Contra Costa Colleges. The Contra Costa Community College District is also the convener of the Diablo Tech Initiative which has great potential as an economic driver for the region. For these reasons, and many more, the East Bay Leadership Council is proud to award the Contra Costa Community College District with our highest organizational honor.


Laura Case – For a distinguished career of public service working for three successive members of the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors starting with Mark DeSaulnier and providing leadership through the tenures of Susan Bonilla and Karen Mitchoff. Her role in the transformation of countless county projects and initiatives including Contra Costa Centre cannot be overstated. As the East Bay Leadership Council’s Office & Events Manager for the past seven years, Laura has demonstrated the highest integrity and provided lasting insights into how our team can maximize our impact as regional advocates. There are few people that have served Contra Costa County with as much heart, good humor, and quiet confidence as Laura.


Linus Eukel – For his thoughtful leadership across both housing and transportation policy work as a co-chair of the East Bay Leadership Council’s Infrastructure Task Force. Linus serves as Executive Director of the John Muir Land Trust and brings his vast experience and compassionate advocacy to EBLC’s work. He has led by example as our team advocates for both the preservation of natural lands and addresses the housing shortage felt so acutely in the East Bay.


Dr. Sheila Hassell Hughes – For her committed leadership throughout the formation of the East Bay Leadership Council’s Opportunity Task Force and ever-present focus on advancing our organization’s diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging goals. Her commitment to engaging colleagues and students at Saint Mary’s college in her role as Dean of the School of Liberal Arts has deepened the EBLC’s connection to this invaluable community asset and helped emphasize the importance of liberal arts education in the local workforce.